The City of God

I had some charismatic friends pray over me one time when I was going on a mission trip. This trip was to a gathering of hippies in the middle of the national forest. It was a large gathering with many people there. When she prayed she said she got the words to the song “Hot Child in the City” by Nick Gilder. I was reminded of this prayer while I was walking among those I was ministering to that summer, and believed this is all that word was about, but as I was reading City of God: Faith in the Streets by Sara Miles, I began to wonder if my days of being the “Hot Child in the City” were not over.City

Miles describes heaven like a city. She uses the places in scripture that talk about heaven as the new Jerusalem, but the city that she envisions in hot and messy. In the introduction to the book she says, “In the city of God, a river of life flows from the single source of holiness, while a bent street tree, cracking open the sidewalk with its tough roots, offers its leaves for the healing of all the nations.” This is a reinterpretation of Revelation 22:1-2 where the evangelist talks about a river in the New Jerusalem lined with trees that give healing to the nations.

This is a vision of heaven that I can live with. I have a hard time when everything that is human is taken out of heaven because all that is human is evil. I do not see humanity as evil, and I see God as being there to heal all nations in the midst of our hurt and pain. It is in the midst of all of our problems that we need God the most, and this is where he is. In the middle of a city teeming with people who are hurting, and looking for hope.

This made me think that my days of being a “Hot Child in the City” were not over, and God has more work for me to do in the City of God.

Leave a Reply

