Pinto bean hummus

I know hummus means chick pea, but I have a pantry full of dried beans that need to be cooked. I decided I would use them to perfect my hummus recipe. The spices can be changed depending on the type of bean you use.

Beans are great at bringing down cholesterol, and dip can be used in a variety of ways.

Pinto Hummus with blue corn tortilla chips.
Pinto Hummus with blue corn tortilla chips.

Here is the recipe that I came up with for my pinto beans. I love the Pinto Beans Muy Facil. The recipe came from Allrecipes.com, and is great to just eat, make into dip, or use in refried beans. The beans are cooked with jalapenos, garlic, and onions. This gives them a nice flavor.

Pinto Bean Hummus

  • 2 T Tahini
  • 4 T lemon juice
  • 1/4 t chili powder
  • 1 t cumin
  • 4 C Pinto Beans Muy Facil
  • 1/4 C water or juice from the beans

In food processor add Tahini and lemon juice. Combine until smooth

Add other ingredients one at a time once the other ingredients are smooth.

One thought on “Pinto bean hummus

  1. Pingback: Southern Style Pinto Beans | Collegiate Culinaire

Leave a Reply

