Bench Makeover

I found a small bench at a yard sale for only $1.00. The price was right,and I knew I could make something really cool out of it.

See the possibities
$1 Bench Before
$1 Bench After
$1 Bench After

The first thing I did was take the whole thing apart. (When I was taking the whole thing apart I realized this is an antique. The padding was an old cotton, and the screws were flat head. The rest of the piece was interlocking wood.) I removed any of the wood veneer that was peeling off. (This was most of it.) Then I sanded all of the wood.

I had to glue the boards between the legs. They would not stay tight without some glue. I used Gorilla Glue for this, and clamped for a couple of hours.

Now for the fun part, the painting.  First It was painted Chocolate Brown.

Then, painted the Cream White over the Chocolate Brown.
Then, painted the Cream White over the Chocolate Brown.

Next I painted a color called Ariel’s Tale from Disney by Glidden. I got it 50% off in the miss matched paint section at Walmart. (This is where I got all of my paint.)

All done sanding, time to put it back together.
All done sanding, time to put it back together.
Put everything back together.
Put everything back together.

When I bought my shower curtain I was able to get another to match it, and so I used the extra shower curtain as the cover for the bench. I used fiber fill for the padding.

One thought on “Bench Makeover

  1. Pingback: Bathroom Window treatment | buckle4up

Leave a Reply

