Utensil Hanger

Utensil holder

I saw a utensil hanger on pintrest using cups. It is located here.  I just had to make something similar. The one on pintrest uses tea cups, and was very cute. My kitchen however, is more of a coffee kitchen, so I changed the tea cups out for coffee cups. Not as cute, but it works for the theme I am going for.

I love collecting coffee cups, and so have no shortage of them at my house. This idea was perfect for me, and I had the perfect spot right across from my coffee cups.

The holder from the side. This is the way most people view it in my kitchen.
The holder from the side. This is the way most people view it in my kitchen.

The cup and utensil holder are facing each other, one on either side of my sink, so I wanted them to match. That is why I painted them at the same time.  I painted the boards with a chocolate brown, cream, and then a latte brown. Then the boards were distressed and put together.

Oh, did I mention I started out with an old fence? I guess that was in the other blog entry. Anyway, if you would like more instructions on how the boards were painted and put together check out the coffee cup holder entry.

After the fence was put back together I used gorilla glue to adhere the cups  to the boards. The gorilla glue worked great for this. I did need to put some weight on the cups while the glue was setting. Since the cups were different sizes I put a small piece of wood on each cup, and then some rocks for weight.

Then on the wall between the cup holder and utensil holder I put a sign I found at a thrift shop. The sign is the perfect thing to tie it all together.

I found this sign at a thrift shop.
I found this sign at a thrift shop.
Follow me on bloglovin
One thought on “Utensil Hanger

  1. Pingback: Bathroom Window treatment | buckle4up

Leave a Reply

