Watermelon

I had a half of watermelon in the fridge that was leftover from when everyone helped us move. It was starting to go bad, so I wanted to do something with it before I had to through it out. I really hate throwing out food.

Watermelon pops
Watermelon pops

So, I got out my blender, and the Popsicle makers that I just bought. It is supposed to be very hot here for the next couple of days.(Ok, you might not think the 80’s and 90’s are hot, but in Western Washington it is record breaking.) I just put in the pureed watermelon. No sugar added!!

Of course the Popsicle filled up fast. It only used a quarter of the watermelon. What to do with the rest. No ice cream maker, so sorbet was out of the question. I thought about Ice cubes, but not that much room in my freezer. straight to google, and I found a watermelon sorbet recipe on the Taste of Home website that does not require an ice cream maker.

I don’t like using white sugar, so I changed that to Sugar in the Raw, and I did not measure how much watermelon I had before pureeing. So, below is the recipe that I used.

  • 4 C pureed watermelon
  • 1/2 C Sugar in the Raw
  • 1/2 C water

Put water and sugar in a sauce pan. Bring to a boil, and cook until sugar is dissolved.

stir into puree, and freeze until firm.

This turned out a little too sweet for me, so next time I will cut back on the amount of sugar.

Leave a Reply

