Favorite meatloaf

My husband has been hungry for meatloaf for some time now, and I have not had a working oven, so he has had to survive without. We have finally moved into our new place. (It took 2 months for everything to go through the lawyer’s office.) What a pain!! Now, I finally have a working oven.

Tonight I made my favorite meatloaf recipe. It is one that I have changed and revised several times. It seems to be almost perfect now.
Louise's Meatloaf
Louise’s Meatloaf
Ingredients
  • 1 egg beaten
  • 1/2 cup oatmeal
  • 1/4 cup beer or apple juice
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion
  • 1/4 cup copped celery
  • 1/4 cup chopped bell pepper
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley
  • 1 clove garlic
  • 1/4 teaspoon thyme
  • 1/4 teaspoon rosemary
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 2 tablespoons barbecue sauce
  • 1 strip bacon
  1. Preheat oven to 350
  2. In a food processor combine egg; oatmeal; beer; onion; celery; bell pepper; parsley; and seasonings.
  3. Fold in ground beef using food processor.
  4. Place in a 7x3x2-inch loaf pan.
  5. Spread barbecue sauce over the top, and place bacon on top.
  6. Bake at 350 for 45 to 50 minutes or until no pink remains.
We just love it! I made it with beer tonight. I have never tried using beer in my meatloaf, and it turned out great.
I also used my daughter’s favorite BBQ sauce. (Sweet Baby Ray’s) She will not have BBQ without it, so I try to keep some on hand for when she comes over. I am running low!! Better add it to my list.
I also posted this recipe at Allrecipes.com.
One thought on “Favorite meatloaf

  1. Pingback: Rodger's BBQ Meatloaf - Can't Stay Out Of The Kitchen

Leave a Reply

